Getting to Know Acorn by Using It

I love Acorn! But I have a few suggestions that might help those who are new to it. I’m a longtime full time author and heavy user of graphic editors since I make all my illustrations and book covers. For the last 10 years I used Photoshop Elements with great success. I recently bought a MacBook Air and love it! But since I still have PSElements on my iMac and old Pro, I decided to go for Acorn this time. First, many kudos to Gus and Kirstin Mueller, who are the nicest people to ask for help you’ll ever want to meet. It turns out all my problems were because after 10 years of everyday use the workings of PSE were incised into the wrinkles of my brain! So when something would work differently in Acorn, I would panic! But I found, after using Acorn awhile, that there is absolutely nothing wrong with Acorn. In fact, after becoming familiar with it, I realized it’s a much more elegant and powerful program than PSE. To those who are switching to Acorn from something else, take heed. You have to use it to know it. Don’t expect to jump into this process and that process without encountering a little confusion along the way. With use comes familiarity, and with familiarity comes confidence, which means you won’t have to whine to the Muellers all that often, if ever. :slight_smile:

Here’s where I went waaaay south in the beginning. Every time you invoke an action, Acorn pops up a palette, allowing you to change attributes of the action. PSE handles this differently, hence my confusion. I wasn’t looking for a filters palette, for example, when I was trying to apply styles in Acorn. Once I found it, everything thereafter made total sense. Yes, I know this is clearly demonstrated by Kirstin in her superior tutorials. But PSE had quite a hold on me. Don’t let this happen to you. All the tutorials on Planet Earth won’t help you if you don’t use Acorn to discover these things for yourself.