Old versions of Acorn in the "Open With..." dialogue


#1

I’ve been a big fan of Acorn for several years. The only thing I don’t like about it, and I realize this is the nittiest of nits, is that Acorn, and Acorn alone, displays previous version of itself in the macOS “Open With” dialogue.

When I choose Open With on a file, I am presented with:

[Default app if Acorn is not the default]
Acorn 2.app (5.0.1)
Acorn.app (6.3.2)
Acorn.app (6.0.3)
[other apps]

Is there a way to make it so that I only see the latest version of Acorn? I have been a customer since Acorn 3 and I have always let Acorn update itself.


#2

This will happen when you have multiple versions of Acorn on your Mac. If you do a spotlight search for “Acorn kind:app” (without the quotes of course) you should be able to find them all. Delete the old ones, and you should be good.


#3

Success! Thank you!

(My only regret is not asking sooner.)