Help needed resizing maps for printing
  • I need assistance getting something done using Acorn. I am a complete and abject beginner with graphics software of any kind.

I play D&D. And part of D&D is having a fun dungeon or haunted house to explore, right? Right! For many of the dungeons, I usually use maps other people create. Previously, I would take their maps and draw them out at the size I need for gaming with miniature figures. But I'd like to resize those JPEGs and either print it out in multiple sheets on my home printer or take the resized picture to my local office supply store and print on poster sized sheets.

So, can someone teach me how to use Acorn to accomplish this?

Here's an image I can point at for an example. I do support this artist through Patreon, but the maps are also licensed as free for personal use.

On that webpage, once you click on the map picture, you get a larger version which I then save as a jpg file. I would like to print this such that each of the squares in the open floor space of this map comes out at 1 inch square (or maybe a little larger for the miniatures to move around on).

Once I have it resized, can it be saved at that larger size and taken to a print shop to print out on a poster sized sheet? How do I figure out how large that printed image will be so I can specify the right size paper?

Or, since this is a simple greyscale image, can Acorn paginate the larger document across multiple sheets of 8.5" X 11" sheets and I can tape them together to lay out on the table?

Thanks in advance to any and all who can assist and teach! Please be very verbose with instruction as I really have no experience with this kind of software.

TMan
  • If you want to divvy up the image for printing across multiple sheets of paper, Acorn isn't the ideal app to use.  If you follow the thread at this link, it looks like folks have good success with Adobe Acrobat Reader which you can download for free.